Which Sleeper?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

caravanman

Engineer
Hi folks I am fairly new to this, so please be patient!

I am booking a trip from LA to Jacksonville, and the sleeper options are: Superliner Standard accomodation or Family Bedroom. Surprising to me is the fact that the family bedroom is within a few dollars of the Standard bedroom...I am imagining that if I book the family room that I will have lots more space for the same cost...is there a catch? what am I missing?

Thanks again for your advice and assistance to date! Ed :blink:

I, too, am surprised that the cost is so similar. Hope indeed that there is not a a catch to that. The family bedroom is much, much larger.

One bad thing about the family bedroom is that it is downstairs so the view would not be as good from the sole standpoint of height. But you would get to see out both sides of the train----a rare priviledge indeed---I've never had that advantage. Few ever do. Getting a family bedroom is so rare(I've never even considered one) that you might want to spring for it if you are sure there is no misunderstanding about the fare.

One bad thing is that the family bedroom is near the downstairs restrooms and I understand that some people may knock on your door thinking it is a restroom.....maybe they have better signs now that make it clear. I have no experience being downstairs at all, so hopefully I am exaggerating the above problem.

caravanman said: