1st Trip on Pacific Surfliner

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
My daughter (9) and I are planning a jaunt to San Clemente Beach as a side trip from Disneyland. I'm a bit nervous ( :unsure: )about traveling on a form of transportation new to me with my child, and I have some questions for you knowledgeable and friendly folks: 1. Is there really a station where Amtrak stops at San Clemente? (some sources say that there is, but even more seem to indicate that the closest stop to S.C. is San Juan Capistrano) And if there is, can we be dropped off AND picked up there? 2. Is there coach seating on the top level of the surfliner, or would I have to upgrade to pacific business to get us seats on the upper level (my daughter REALLY wants to sit on top!)? 3. For carry-on bags, would a regular size backpack meet the size requirements? If not, what do you suggest for a couple of gals headed for a day at the beach (and some shopping, of course! ;) ) 4. I just have to mention that I was thrilled to find this site, and after reading several of the entries, many of my questions were already answered! Thank you, everyone! :D

Northteacher-

There is no real "station" at the San Clemente Pier, however, there is a platform that a few of the Surfliners do stop at. The schedule is designed to accomodate people coming down from northern areas on the route to spend a day and then return. On board, the coach seating is mostly upstairs. The business class passengers are accomodated in a Business class car sandwiched between the engine and the cafe car. (The Cafe car has coach seating upstairs too.) I have never seen the carry on baggage policy enforced on the Surfliner trains. Either way, I don't see how a regular back pack could be disqualified as carry-on.