Breakfast into Los Angeles?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mackensen

Lead Service Attendant
Next spring the wife and I are doing KAL-CHI-LAX-SEA in a roomette on an AGR reward. We're supposed to get into LAX around 8:15 am on the Southwest Chief with a departure two hours later on the Coast Starlight. Is breakfast served on the SWC? Two hours isn't a lot of time to get situated, and that's assuming the SWC is on time. Does Amtrak hold the CS for the SWC? If we don't make the connection, what are our options there (I'm assuming Amtrak would put us up for the night and try to book us on the next one out)?

Sorry for the noobish questions but I've never done this particular route before. Thanks for any insight.

This is a guaranteed connection as long as you book it for direct CHI-LAX-SEA connection (if AGR no multi-city nor stopovers are allowed)from the SWC to the CS. Most of the time the Chief has an excellent OTP but there are various ways Amtrak can ensure the connection, if the train is running late they could bustitute pax to catch up with the Starlight, if extremeely late (very rare but stuff happens)they could even put you on a bus to Bakersfield and catch a San Joaquin train Northbound to catch up with the Starlight.Spending the night in LAX would be very rare, the train would have have been cancelled or the SWC running extremely late! This is a very popular train, booked most days so you might not get a room, have to ride coach if you miss your connection , Id think Amtrak would do the bustitution first, then the San Joaquin trip!