car rental in nola

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sweet tea

Service Attendant
hi folks,

i've just booked a trip from nyc to nola in march, and i'm wondering about car rental down there. anyone know if there is a place convenient to the station? is it likely to be open when the train comes in? i'll be coming in on the crescent on a saturday evening.

(i'm visiting a friend, so i may be able to pick up a car the following day if necessary.)

also, i'm new to agr, but i see that they have deal with budget and hertz. how does that work? when it says that you get double or triple points, does that mean you have to have the agr credit card? or is it a points per dollar spent deal that applies to your agr account regardless of how you pay?

-- confused n00b.

They don't have car rental right at the station. They do have a direct line to Hertz, although I would check with Hertz, make sure what their operating hours in NOL are in case you get there late, make SURE they know you are arriving on AMTRAK, not by air, and then have a car reserved with them. Other than that I believe Enterprise and Budget both operate in NOL and I would call them on their 800 numbers, make SURE they know you would be arriving at the AMTRAK station, NOT the airport, and see what they can do as far as picking you up at the Amtrak station, and their operating hours, and drop-off and so forth. In Charleston, Hertz did not have a rental location AT the Amtrak station, but if you reserved a car from them and told them you were arriving by Amtrak, they reimbursed you for your cab fare to and from the airport Hertz location, which is only a few minutes away.