Cross-country Christmas trip--advice

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

Darin Boville

Hello,

I'm taking my family home from California to Northern Ohio this Christmas and I'm thinking of doing it by train. I used to ride the DC to Boston Amtrak in the mid-1990's when I was an intern so I have a little Amtrak experience. But also many questions:

1) Fares. What are my odds that they will offer some sort of weekly special (depart, say, Dec 21; arrive back say on Dec 31?)? If no weekly special is there any other option other than full fare?

2) Am I crazy? Is there any real hope of getting there even close to schedule? How many hours late should I expect?

3) How is the scenery on the various routes? Will it convince my wife who wants to fly that the trip was worth it after all?

4) Sleepers. I am 6 feet tall, my wife about 5 1/2. Two kids, well-behaved girls, 7 and 9. What is the least I can get away with in terms of $$$leeping arrangements and still have my wife and kids speak to me afterwards? (Note the dollar signs!)

Thanks!

--Darin

1) Since you're trying to travel during the holiday season, weekly specials are unlikely. Amtrak offers many discounts for members of various associations/organizations, including: AAA (10% discount on all travelers), NARP/National Association of Railroad Passengers (10% discount for members), Student Advantage (may or may not be applicable in your case; 15% discount for members), and several others. The discounts apply only to rail fare, and not to the accommodation (sleeper) charge. Also, kids generally travel at half price.