Food and Allergies

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

AferVentus

Train Attendant
Hi all from Minnesota!

I am a relative newbie to Amtrak; I took my first trip in May from MSP to St. Louis via The Empire Builder and the Lincoln Service. I must say I was overall impressed with what our rail system does, but after seeing German trains, I definitely see room for improvement.

However, I got the rest of my family convinced that we can take Amtrak for a Ski Trip in December. We will be on Superliner roommettes leaving December 25 and coming back the 1st of January.

So, I know that these rooms include our meals. I did have coach on my trip back in May, and I did eat in the dining car once. The person I was travelling with (a seasoned rider) said that the meals are pretty much ready-made and nothing can be changed. Well, that's where my issue comes up. Someone in our family is allergic to Garlic (yes, I know out of all things - and it's in pretty much everything for food!!). So, would Amtrak be able to accommodate for this, or is this something that this particular person needs to "deal" with?

Thanks, and I'm glad to see such a forum to exist!

Yes, however, you will have to call Amtrak plenty of time before you leave and let them who about the allergies and for which pass. it's for and they can set something up.