Grand Canyon Railway Report from the Local Yokel

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greatcats

Engineer
A few months ago I bid for a package of items at a silent auction for the benefit of our local homeless shelter in Flagstaff, at which I volunteer most Monday evenings. Included in the various offerings were two roundtrip tickets on the Grand Canyon Railway from Williams, which I have not ridden in ten years. Some of you may know that I was a tour bus driver several years ago at Grand Canyon, most of our work there having to do with meeting the train and giving 90 minute tours, although I preferred the tours designed for those staying at Grand Canyon, not just dropping in for a day trip. But, I am pretty familiar with their operation and sometimes drove taxis to and from Williams for those staying at the Canyon making one way trips on the train. Last week I looked at the vouchers and saw that they had to be used by August 1, so I asked a lady friend from my church to accompany me. We did have a fairly nice day, with some observations to follow.

We were on the second train of the morning, but I saw the conductor of the first train, Bernie, and he recognized my face from over six years ago! I did especially enjoy the banjo player, who I thought I recognized. Yes, that was him, who played with a group some years ago at a wine bar in Flagstaff. And he remembered me, too, going back to 2007, as the bus driver who drove 80 miles from Grand Canyon to see his friends perform.