Grand Canyon

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

alang

Train Attendant
Planning trip from Dodge City, Kansas via SWC and the Grand Canyon Railroad to the Grand Canyon this summer. Any advice or insight?

Go into the canyon all the way down to the river, don't just peek off from the rim.

I was a tour bus driver at the South Rim until last year. Please just don't come in on the train and leave the same day. That is for tacky tourists. At least stay overnight, preferably three nights. Do the place justice and savor it. If you are ambitious and in good shape, consider hiking into the canyon, but this is not for everybody. I do recommend the 4 hour Desert View bus tour, which I wish I was still doing. Please feel free to private message me. If you get off the Southwest Chief at Williams Junction, it is a bit disconcerting to be driven down dark forest roads after you get off the train. The arrangement works fine. Don't do like I saw two ladies pull a few years ago. The shuttle will take you to the Grand Canyon railway Hotel, not the GCR station. They had come in that way and thought the train was delayed or something, and that is why they thought they had been brought in on a van. So, returning, they were sitting out on the Grand Canyon Railway platform at 3:45 am waiting for the train. We finally found them - the ' station " is the hotel lobby.

Planning trip from Dodge City, Kansas via SWC and the Grand Canyon Railroad to the Grand Canyon this summer. Any advice or insight?
Greatcats is right plan to spend at least three days. We took the SW Chief 3 years ago spent the night at the railroad hotel and then GCRR to the south rim. Spurge and go first class, we took the dome up to the canyon and took the observation car with open vestibule you can stand on at the back .