Hello All :)

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SereneFury

Train Attendant
Hi! I'm a newbie to the forum and train travel in general. In fact, I think the only one I've ever ridden aside from the ride at Hersheypark was the Strasburg Railroad here in PA. :)

Anyway, soon I'll be taking my first trip from PA to Chicago and I'm beyond excited! You all seem to have wonderful information and stories here, and I hope to get to know you all and have some stories of my own in the near future. :)

Oh, and any hints/tips/tricks or opinions are more than welcome! :)

Looking forward to talking with you!

Welcome to the board!

Are you going to take the #43 Pennsylvania or the #29 Capitol Limited? Are you going to go Coach, Business Class, or Sleeper?

You could take the Pennsylvanian to and from Pittsburgh, to connect to the Capitol Limited (CL). Going west, it is not all that bad (arriving about 8 PM and departing at midnight), but eastbound you arrive about 5 AM and depart after 7 AM! :eek: I just did the later last month - and it was no fun! :(

At least one of the directions, although it is longer, I would take one of the Keystones to Philadelphia, a Regional to Washington and catch the CL from Washington.

If you go thru Pittsburgh on the way back, I would try to have you not get a roomette! You would only get dinner, and you would be getting up at 4:30 AM. I do not feel that is worth $180+! :( If you have a roomette on the way back and go thru Washington, you get 3 meals and can use the Lounges in Chicago, Washington AND Philadelphia! :huh: