How many $/1,000 points do you try to get?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RRrich

Conductor
I am new to AGR and I am wondering how many $ per point do you try to get?

I recently booked a trip - 2 zones, Bedroom - cost me 30,000 points - would have cost me $1600, so I got $53/1000 points.

I guess I did OK since if I buy points, they will cost me $27.50/1000 with the current promotion.

I have only taken one reward trip so far. 1000 pt Downeaster ticket. I think it would have cost me 22 bucks.

I compute mine the other way - $/point. I try to get above 4¢/point. Last October, I think I averaged 8-9¢/point - including one segment that yielded over 12¢/point! :D In March, my trip will yield about 5¢/point.

But do you calculate in the cost to get to your starting point?

The Slidell loophole gets you a very high value, but many users here will FLY to the nearest airport, then FLY back home. Or, book a standard ticket to get to the proper zone. Seems you probobly need to factor in all the "side costs" to get an accurate number.

We were thinking of using a 2-zone to go from Portland, Me to El Paso. Thats about ¢60/point, but the cost to fly back is about $400, making that rate closer to ¢40/point. Still pretty good though.

My figure did not include the 4 mile drive from my home to the KIN station, but it did include the 5,500 points I did spend to get a 1 zone coach award for KIN-ATL. It also did not include the $29 I spent for a ATL-BHM ticket (which I earned 100 more AGR points for :p ). And it was a 3 hour turnaround in BHM, so there was no overnight needed. And I planned to go to LAX and PDX anyway, so I didn't consider those expenses. (I visited friends in PDX, so there was no expense, and I went to LA for the Gathering, which I planned to do anyway! :) )