My intro, a little late.. just like the trains!

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TampAGS

Service Attendant
Greetings folks... I figured I should officially say "hello", even though I've been perusing the forum for a few weeks and have already replied in a handful of threads.

I'm a newbie not only to the board but to all things Amtrak, having only "seen the light" last September. I was headed to south Florida to board a cruise, and for some reason I thought of checking Amtrak. I can't recall exactly what sparked the idea, since I'd never previously considered train travel. Whatever it was that gave me the idea... it was about time!

Now all I can do is cringe when I recall the countless times over the years that I've driven back and forth across the state, and realize I could have taken the train instead! I could have been racking up Guest Reward points instead of racking up wear and tear on my car, wear and tear on my psyche, and the odd speeding ticket or two.. :eek:

Tampa Union Station is the point of origin for most of my trips. What a treat to finally see the old beauty after having lived here 17 years (and what a shame it only sees two trains a day :( ).

Aside from travel in general, I love music, and have for most of my 36 years been involved in the choral arts in some form or fashion. I also dabble in graphic design and media editing. At the moment, I've got more time to dabble seeing as I'm out of work. But from what I've seen on the news, I guess right now I'm not the only one in that boat.. er, train.

Welcome a little late! :)

I agree with you about Union Station. I haven't been to it in well over 5 years (maybe over 10 years), but it was run down then. I'm glad they refurbished it and brought back some of it's glory. I'd like to see it again!

Hi Neighbor,

I’m a newbie too.