Online vs Agent Fare Differences

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rogers55

Service Attendant
Just bought tickets for a September trip SDY to VNC via CHI and PDX.

I checked on line first and then called Amtrak reservations, mainly because I am new at this and wanted a second opinion on my planning.

After a little misunderstanding about what month we were talking about she made my reservations for roomettes on the Lakeshore Limited, Empire Builder and Coast Starlight.

SURPRISE, the cost was $318 less than on the web site.

That may not mean much to some people, only 4 fillups for my car's gas tank, but it certainly helps me justify the expense to my fellow traveler.

She understands bargain very well.

Is this kind of difference normal?

The Amtrak on hold recording would lead me to believe that the cheaper fares were online.

Regards,

Roger

While I do all my booking online, I've never really heard of that kind of a fare difference. IIRC, the fares on the phone and online should be exactly the same, except for Amtrak's Hot Deals page, which is only available on the website. Are you sure the booking was for the exact dates and trains? Did you try double checking the fare online after purchase?

Just bought tickets for a September trip SDY to VNC via CHI and PDX.I checked on line first and then called Amtrak reservations, mainly because I am new at this and wanted a second opinion on my planning.

After a little misunderstanding about what month we were talking about she made my reservations for roomettes on the Lakeshore Limited, Empire Builder and Coast Starlight.

SURPRISE, the cost was $318 less than on the web site.

That may not mean much to some people, only 4 fillups for my car's gas tank, but it certainly helps me justify the expense to my fellow traveler.