Scanners, Radio and other such tech inquiries

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Look on Amazon. There are many inexpensive Asian knockoffs of transcievers, BAOFENG is one brand that comes to mind. I have one. If you are worried, just use tthe menu and disable the transmit function. Et Voila'! You now have a scanner!
However, the cheapest Baofeng transceiver scans 3 frequencies per second, whereas the BC125 scans all of the AAR frequencies (close to 200) in 1 second!

However, the cheapest Baofeng transceiver scans 3 frequencies per second, whereas the BC125 scans all of the AAR frequencies (close to 200) in 1 second!
Yes. My Yaesu VX 5 scanned a lot faster, but was wayy more expensive. I am a licensed Radio Operator (HAM - W5VD) and use my Yaesu to talk on 2Meter and other repeaters. I usually use the Baofeng or the Wouxon for railroad monitoring.
Also, no matter the speed of the channel scan, it can false, especially in populated areas. I don't want to hear taxis, concrete mixers and gypsy users, so I just keep the list handy and switch accordingly. It's really not that complicated.
AAR channels are in my radio labeled 11-197 (AAR Chans 1-97). So it's pretty easy to select any channel. If the Engineer says "Lets go 96". I enter 196 and I am on the channel. Sometimes they want to go off on a side channel for a quick "private" conversation. Real easy to jump to that.
Sometimes I will use the computer interface and set up a scan group for a particular route, but usually I just use the list. Since the radio has an A and a B channel, I'll put the next channel on the other side (B or A), so I can easily switch back and forth if I am not sure whether we have passed the border. It's also handy when there is a road channel and an AMTRAK or station channel, like St. Louis.