USA Rail Passes - Open to Americans

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RTOlson

Lead Service Attendant
I didn't see this posted yet, but I found it very interesting. Here's the relevant blurb from the latest NARP Hotline #554:

Amtrak has removed the purchasing restrictions on its USA Rail Passes. US citizens may now purchase the passes, which were formerly available only to international visitors.
I've never used these passes before. Is this good news for travelers? How much traveling does one need to do to justify either a 15- or 30-day pass? Are there a decent number of Rail Pass seats available or is it like frequent-flyer rewards where there are like two seats on a trip?

If I wanted to go on a grand tour, I would definitely pick one of these instead of the North American Rail Pass. No offense to Canada, but I don't necessarily want to pencil in a trip to the Great White North (and pay for a new passport) just to validate my train ride.

I seem to recall that these passes have been open to Americans before. Is this a limited time only deal?

Anyway, I eagerly await your input.

One bad thing I've heard about these passes is that they can be used ONLY on trains that have seats available in the LOWEST FARE BUCKET! (Just try to find a train selling at the lowest bucket near a holiday! :rolleyes: ) If the train does not have any low bucket seats available, you have a choice of either going on another day or at another time OR buy a ticket for that train at the current price AND NOT USE THE PASS!