Will Meals On Amtrak Eventually Migrate To THIS?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Yeah, timing would be a HUGE issue. When I was a pizza driver, I know there's no way our store would have delivered to the train. You can't rely on when the train will get there, which ties up a driver, as they have to wait for the train.

That said, if Domino's were available on the train, I doubt we'd eat it. Well, Brent might. He loves pizza. :) I prefer Amtrak food, though. Pizza is something we get when it's late, a weekend, I don't feel like cooking real food, etc. It's more of a snack than a meal. I do love me some cheesy bread, but again, I'd rather have steak, chicken, meatballs, etc.

I've often considered ordering better food from a stationary restaurant but then I realize that I'll probably hand over my credit card only to have trouble finding my food or end up with a late arrival to cold food or a late but earlier than expected arrival with no food. I understand that the lack of enforceable rules and penalties mean the freight railways can treat Amtrak however they please but that doesn't change the fact that Amtrak schedule keeping is too sloppy for reliable food delivery. Even hotels and rental cars can be a bit of a gamble when arriving on Amtrak.

The article linked by OP is about Indian Railways.

The IRCTC effort is to offer more alternatives over and above the standard fare of Indian Vegetarian , Indian Non Vegetarian and so called Western Non Vegetarian. Currently different caterers are already responsible for different trains. I quite like the Nonveg Thali on the Rajdhani Expresses from New Delhi to Howrah as well as Sealdah (both terminii in Kolkata), though the Sealdah one is a little better.

In effect you will get more choices than the three mentioned.