Amtrak Travel with GPS and Microsoft Program

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

njdon

Train Attendant
I'll be taking the Cardinal from TRE to Chicago on Friday, June 5th. I've heard that using a portable GPS and a Microsoft program can help in keeping track of where the train is during the trip. Does anyone know the exact name of the Microsoft product? I was also wondering whether members of the forum would recommend taking along a device that would allow listening to the radio traffic between dispatchers and the train. I'm a rookie and don't know the codes used, etc. Is there an inexpensive portable device and a why to understand the codes used. As always thanks for any help.

t

Microsoft Streets and Trips. There is a new version every year the current version is 2009 be sure you order the one with the GPS included as they sell a package that is just the software.

The device for crew communications is called a scanner. You can buy one new for around 100 dollars. Some members pick up used ones on Ebay for less. They are not to hard to use. THIS Site has all the frequencies (codes) you need to listen to the communication.

Microsoft Streets and Trips. There is a new version every year the current version is 2009 be sure you order the one with the GPS included as they sell a package that is just the software.
The device for crew communications is called a scanner. You can buy one new for around 100 dollars. Some members pick up used ones on Ebay for less. They are not to hard to use. THIS Site has all the frequencies (codes) you need to listen to the communication.
Thank you Long Time Runnin. Do the crews use codes in talking with each other like the trucker's used to, things like that's a 10-20? If they do is there anyplace with a meaings for those codes?

I appreciate your help.