First time on Amtrak - was scared but now am impressed!

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nora_roan

Train Attendant
I am a newbie to train travel. I boarded the Capitol Limited (#29) at Cumberland MD on Tuesday for my very first train trip. I was nervous and scared, and as the train pulled into the station and came to a screeching stop I had half a mind to run away! Haha! But within moments Amtrak staff (not sure what their titles are) got off the train and greeted the awaiting passengers. I had reserved a roomette and was directed to the train by a very friendly and polite gentleman who not only assisted me on board but also carried my heavier luggage to my roomette. I sat in my roomette, waving out the window to my husband who remained on the platform, talking to me via cell phone while I waited for the train to depart. I think he was as nervous as I was, putting his wife on a train all by herself to travel all the way to Iowa! The train finally departed and I enjoyed the scenery. I declined the included meal because my husband and I had already dined out for the evening. As darkness fell I delighted in watching the train round corners and bends, and I could see the engines in the turn ahead, the lights illuminating the tracks. I got a good night's sleep, only woke up a few times, and finally in the morning we were entering Chicago. This scared me too, I am a small town girl and was scared of this "big station". But I soon found there was nothing to worry about. After getting off my train I found my way to the Metropolitan Lounge where I spent a rather long layover in relative comfort. There were comfortable chairs and couches, my larger baggage could be checked so I didn't have to lug it around, and there were TVs to watch, snacks and soft drinks free of charge, friendly staff,