First Timer...procedure?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
M

Matt

This is my first time taking an Amtrak trip and I am excited. I don't leave for a month but I was wondering what the procedure is. I haven't gotten my tickets yet...how long do they take to arrive?

The train leaves at 4:15AM from the station. When should I arrive? Will I know where to go to get on the train?? Who takes my bags?? Are there any security things I have to do?? Can I lock my suitcase??

Sorry for all the questions I am just a little nervous as the station is only open from Midnight to 8AM and I am a little worried as to how it is going to go.

When did you book your trip? Did you pick for them to be mailed to you, or did you select station pick-up (assuming your station has that option)? I don't know how long they take to arrive (since I always do station pick-up), but if they take more than two weeks, call Amtrak to see what's up.

If your train is on-time, you should arrive no later than 4:00 AM for a 4:15 AM train. The station should have some sort of signage about where to wait. If your station is staffed (hard to tell, since I don't know where you're coming from), the agent should let you know where to go.

You can lock your suitcase if you want. If you are carrying your bags on the train with you, then you take them yourself (if you need assistance, a member of the train crew can help you). If your station offers checked baggage, and you want to take advantage of that service, arrive about a half hour early (at busier stations, maybe less at smaller stations) to check your bags.

Make sure you have a photo ID on you in case a member of the train crew requests it. Also, check with the agent or call 1800-USA-RAIL (1800-872-7245) to determine whether your train is on time.