My introduction

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlakeTyner

Train Attendant
Hi everyone. I've made a post or two over in the Amtrak discussion forum, but it occurs to me that I haven't introduced myself.

I'm Blake. I work as an English professor for a small community college in NE Texas. For about 6 years before I started this gig, I was the engineer of the Historic Jefferson Railway steam train (got me through college and graduate school.)

My interest in trains and railroading goes back to childhood. I suppose I never outgrew the trains. I've done some modeling in the past (HO scale) and hope to do some in the near future (N scale, probably.) I've railroaded on the full scale, of course, and have decent enough steam locomotive experience. I'm newly married (found someone that will put up with my crazy train fascination) and now that I've finished graduate school I'm beginning to get involved in several railroad safety and advocacy groups. I'm presently assisting in Operation Lifesaver presentations and will train as a presenter myself when the next class in my area begins. I'm in the very, very early stages of getting involved with the Texas Eagle Marketing and Performance Organization (TEMPO) as well as the East Texas Corridor Council (for high speed rail.) On top of that, I'm starting to get involved with the City of Marshall's wonderfully restored T&P depot.

All of that means little, of course, in the way of my having much inside knowledge of operations or policy, but I'm happy to share what I do know (and what I can say publicly.)

Look forward to many good conversations!

Hi everyone. I've made a post or two over in the Amtrak discussion forum, but it occurs to me that I haven't introduced myself.