Need LOTS of help/advice....new to Amtrak

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

timetoride

Train Attendant
Hi, everyone. I've never used Amtrak before, so I'm pretty naive. Have done some reading on Amtrak's website as well as this one. I've found some great advice but would like to ask specifically about a "maybe" trip for mid- to late-May 2009.

Proposed trip involves 3 adults traveling to Vancouver, B. C. for a roundtrip Alaska cruise. This will most likely be a once-in-a-lifetime trip, so I'd really like to have things go as smoothly as possible. This is what I "think" might work...but I ask for the expertise and advice from those of you who know "reality" of such travel. It may be completely off-track.

1) Jackson, MS (JAN) departure on City of New Orleans at approximately 5:44 PM...based on most recent schedule I have.

Arrive in Chicago, IL approx. 9:00 AM next morning

2) Depart Chicago same day on Empire Builder at approx. 2:15 PM to Seattle, WA (approx. 46 hrs later) then Thruway Service to Vancouver, B. C., arriving approx. 2:15 PM

Pertaining to this first part of the journey:

A) Barring unforeseen problems, is it fairly safe to assume the connection at Chicago can be made okay considering the interval between the morning arrival and afternoon departure?

B} Will have coach seats from JAN to CHI but desire sleeping accomodations from CHI to SEA. What would be most economical for 3 adults? The bedrooms indicate 2 adults max. Is it permissible to reserve 1 bedroom and 1 roomette and let the person in the roomette use the "facilities" of the bedroom? Or do we need to reserve 2 bedrooms? Or is there another possible arrangement?