Now I'm confussed.

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I need to get something straight. I have a Master Card that I have had for years. Can I use this card towards my AGR or do I have to subscribe to a new Amtrak Master Card.

I just used my present Master Card towards my daughter's return trip to Atlanta this past weekend in a roomette. My wife and I stayed at a Hilton Hotel in the Philadelphia. I see now that I could have received points towards my AGR for the hotel. How about my daughter's ticket? Did I need an Amtrak Master Card?

Help!!

Joe

Only the AGR MasterCard will earn Points directly into AGR.

Looking at it another way, United Airlines and American Airlines both offer a Visa card. But if you have the American Airlines card, you do not earn miles on United Airlines. Delta Airlines and Hilton Honors both offer an American Express card. But if you have the Delta card, you do not earn HHonors points. Continental Airlines and AGR both offer a MasterCard. But if you have the Continental card, you do not earn AGR points. (Of course, you could later transfer them to AGR, but you do not earn AGR points directly.) Other companies (such as Capital One) have cards that earn "miles", but they are their own "currency" and can not be combined with your own miles in US Air or Northwest or ... - "I'll buy this from you, but I'm not going to pay dollars, I'll give you widgets or thingamabobs only. I don't care that you can't spend them at Sears or Best Buy - that's all I'll give you!" :rolleyes:

I think there is confusion between AGR program points and the points earned by using the AGR Mastercard.