Starting to plan trip on the Canadian

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

love2travel

Train Attendant
I am planning a trip for summer of 2013 on the Canadian from Toronto to Vancouver. Really hoping there will be some express deals for next summer. I can do anytime over the summer since I am a teacher. Do you think I have a good chance of getting an express deal? I have been reading past posts and know a bit about the trip. I know there are 2 stops on the way. How long are they? I can't find that information. What hotel do you recommend in Toronto and Vancouver? Looking to spend around $150 per night. Has anybody been on the suspension bridge in Vancouver? Was it hard to get to? I will be leaving from Milwaukee. It looks like I can take Amtrak to Detroit and then take VIA to Toronto. Is that the best/cheapest way to go? After Vancouver, I will be taking the Cascades to Seattle and back to Milwaukee. Can I use AGR points for that whole leg back or will I need to pay for the Cascades portion. Any other tips? Any other things I should read ahead of time?

Thank,

Sue

Hi……it's really hard to speculate if you will get an express deal in a years' time or not. You just have to keep checking and they are updated on a daily basis. If something looks good, grab it.

The Canadian makes a lot more than two stops. Timetable here:

http://www.viarail.c...r-Vancouver.pdf

I assume you mean the Capilano Suspension Bridge not the Lions Gate Highway Bridge that links Vancouver to the north shore

http://www.capbridge.com/

(Click "Directions" under "Plan" at the top of the web page. There's a shuttle from downtown and it's also on a city transit route)

Lots & lots of Hotel options. In Toronto the famous (former CPR) Royal York Hotel is right across the street from Union Station.