Texas Eagle Consist

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

saxman

Engineer
AU Supporting Member
Gathering Team Member
I know this has been going on for some time, and I know its been discussed before on here. But I can't find it.

But I've been riding the Texas Eagle about twice a year since 2001, and there have been lots of consist changes. It was 2 locos, baggage, trans dorm, 1 or 2? sleepers, diner, lounge 3 coaches and on Sunset Limited days, another coach and a sleeper. (Maybe its always had 1 San Antonio sleeper, I can't remember).

The around 2002 or 03 it went to one loco. This makes since as the Eagle since the Eagle doesn't traverse very steep grades or rough terrain. Although I think 2 locos looks impressive. Now no baggage car, which also makes sense. But why has the sleeper been put on the rear?? This makes for quite a hike to the diner, and I really like being just one or two cars from the diner. Any reason for this? Also its been awhile since I've seen the Sunset cars attached. Are the coach and LAX sleeper tacked on the back of that sleeper as before where coach pax must pass through my sleeper to get up front? Or do they do some serious rearranging in SA?

I would answer my own question this Thursday, but of course its not a Sunset Limited day from FTW to Springfield so I won't be able to see how they do it.

Happy Rails :)

You answered your own question. Putting the through coach and sleeper on the rear makes switching easy in San Antonio. This is particularly useful when one or the other train is running late (imagine how much delay there would be if you had to make all those switching moves before the train could leave).

The sleeper is on the rear on non-Sunset days simply for consistency.