Upgrade to Bizclass on Redemption Tkt

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FunNut

Service Attendant
I'm new to redeeming AGR points. This morning I phoned to make a reservation for Oceanside to Portland on the Pacific Surfliner, connecting to the Coast Starlight at LAX. My husband is accompanying me and he just signed up for AGR under my referral. In order to get the 500 points bonus, I booked a revenue ticket for him, OSD to LAX. I booked him in business class, the upgrade is $14. With me so far?

Then I phoned to make the AGR booking. I booked myself on the Surfliner and added my husband's name to the bedroom reservation on the CS. I explained the situation and asked to upgrade myself to business class on the Surfliner. I figured I would just have to pay the $14 upgrade charge separately. I was told I cannot "mix and match" the reservation and there isn't any way for me to upgrade.

Is this correct? No upgrade to business class possible on a redemption ticket? The bizclass fare is about $37, would I have to buy a separate ticket to ride with my husband? Or would I be able to upgrade with the conductor onboard? As my grandma used to say, this one has me bumfuzzled.