Woman survives fall from moving Amtrak train

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
She opened the emergency exit on the window? Hard to do by accident. Perhaps she woke up in the middle of the night and was confused?

Amazing that she survived.

Elderly people often become confused at night when in an unfamiliar environment. As an ICU/ER nurse I see this a lot of this as a cause of injuries. See it often in the hospital. We call it "Sundowners" Syndrome

It could have been a suicide attempt. Who knows. Glad that she was found and it sounds like she will be OK>

Yes, the second report is much clearer. Seems amazing that she survived. I liked the sheriffs comment! :

"We have strange things happen all the time around here," the sheriff said. "You can't make some of this stuff up."

Ed :cool:

It doesn't say how old the kids were who found her, but good for them for telling their parents right away. Probably

helped to save her life.

I recently found one of those windows open in the middle of the night going through the desert. Standing in front of it and feeling the summer air rushing by was an exhilarating few moments of nostalgia remembering when you could open your own window on a train for fresh air. Reluctantly, I closed it and went back to bed feeling somewhat younger.