Amtrak canada to usa

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

rola

Hi,

I am a canadian permanent resident and I wish to go from canada to usa for shopping and tourism. I am thinking about Amtrak. Do I need americain visa prior to traveling???

What is the shortest path by Amtrak???

You should check with the US Department of State to determine visa requirements: http://travel.state.gov/visa/

As for "shortest path by Amtrak," that really depends on where you're coming from and going to. Canada is a very large country (and, for that matter, the US isn't very small either), so without knowing what cities you're talking about, nobody can really answer that question.

Amtrak has three routes that serve Canada: The Cascades, which has two trains per day from Vancouver to Seattle, the Maple Leaf, which operates once daily from Toronto to New York, and the Adirondack, which operates once daily from Montreal to New York.

Thank you so much for your reply. What us the shortest between the

options you mentioned?

Canadians and US citizens show their passports at the border. Not sure how it works if you travel on a passport from another country.

Being a Canadian permanent resident and being a Canadian citizen can be different with regards to the requirements for a US Visa. IF you carry a Canadian passport, you should be allowed in the US for up to 90 days without any sort of visa, but don't rely on us. From the website Trogdor mentioned,

Permanent residents (landed immigrants) of Canada must have a nonimmigrant visa unless the permanent resident is a national of a country that participates in the Visa Waiver Program (VWP), meets the VWP requirements, and is seeking to enter the United States for 90 days or less under that program.