Sleeping pad use in Roomette

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Eyegor

Train Attendant
Has anyone used an air mattress as a sleeping pad for a roomette lower bunk? The wife is concerned about getting good rest enroute. According to published dimensions it should fit and is sort of self inflating so that shouldn't be a problem. Likewise, I think that daytime storage won't be a problem. It fits in our carry on. Just wondering if anyone has given it a try.

P.S. 3 days till our 3wk Amtrak getaway starts. Thanks in advance.

I have no experience with a self rising foam sleeping pad on a train. However, I think that a 2 or 3 inch pad could work . You could place it under the made up bed mattress so as not to have to rearrange the sheets and blanket. A true "air mattress" without a foam core would be too bouncy and send you flying at some point.

I never have, but I'll tell you that the lower berth has much more padding then the upper berth. The reason is the lower berth is made up by combining the seats (in a Roomette) or extending the couch (in a bedroom) with their cushions - and then the mattress is placed on top of that. The upper berth only has the mattress.

I agree that the bottom bunk is surprisingly comfortable. The mattress goes over the cushioned seats--you don't need anything extra for comfort.

I'll be traveling July 24 to August 6 on Coast Starlight, Empire Builder, and Southwest Chief in Roomette. I am wondering if SCA will allow me to place the upper bunk mattress on top of or under the bottom level mattress to raise the height of the bed for "star gazing out my window". I have traveled many times in roometts and just would like to have my bed a little higher for looking out the window at night from the bed.